Return to Minutes

April 2007 Minutes

Minutes of April 13, 2007 Federation meeting.

The meeting was called to order at 8:00 p.m. by President Tony Going. The following chapters were not in attendance: Bergen; Berkshire Valley; Bladerunners; Essex County; Hawg Stickers; Metro; New Jersey Bass Hunters; Swimming River; Tightline; Tri-State.

The Minutes from the March 9, 2007 Federation meeting were read by Recording Secretary Nick Angiulo. The minutes were accepted via motion/second.

The Treasury Report was read by Treasurer John Carlone. The report was accepted via motion/second.

President Going indicated that shirts were purchased for all participants at the Team Tournament. He also purchased approximately 60 extra shirts which will be sold to the membership for $20. The shirts cost between $13 and $15 dollars to make, so the excess monies collected will go to the Youth Fund.

He also stated that the money for the shirts came from the room raffle money and the money from South Hill, Virginia for the Team Tournament. Tony indicated that the excess of this money would be used as prize money for the top three highest finishing teams at the Team Tournament.

The Tournament Report was given by Tournament Director Al Purdy. Al stated that the Team Tournament currently had 32 clubs participating with all clubs fielding a full six anglers. If there are any changes in participants (especially boaters), he should be contacted immediately. He confirmed that the size limit for the Team Tournament would be 14 inches and that the second day of the event would be a full fishing day. Al also explained the procedure for the “extra” boat drawing.

Regarding the April 29 Susquehanna Flats event, Al stated that the pairings will be sent out shortly and the event is currently scheduled to launch out of Anchor Marine. There would be another large event held at that ramp that day and to coordinate the events, the other organization planned on being there early and coming in later. Al is still working on trying to secure the Elk Neck State Park ramp, but a permit is held by another organization at this point. If there is a change in location, Al stated that he will call all participants. The docks in Anchor Marine are off limits, along with the other usual off limit areas on the Flats. He also indicated that boats could not tie off at Anchor Marine.

Secretary Stovall indicated that all participants should have their navigation lights on their boat prior to launching as he has been informed that the Maryland Division of Natural Resources has been ticketing boaters. He also stated that when driving through the town of North East, to observe the posted 25 mph speed limit.

Next, Executive Officer Forest Honeywell stated that the TBF Reel Kids casting competition held at the Pequest Hatchery on March 31 and April 1 was a great success, with approximately 120 kids on Saturday and 85 kids on Sunday. In this regard, he thanked adult volunteers: Earl Carson; Bob Gilbert; Antonio Gomez; Jeff Stewart; Tony Going; Dennis Foley; Gary Voss; and Dorothy Honeywell; and kid volunteers: James Stewart; Marti Stewart; Kean Clifford; Kurt Episcopo; and Jeff Voss. He also thanked Marty Klapa, Dave Hrbek; Dean Buono; John Carlone; and Mike Hart for plastic and tackle donations for the events. Based on this event and the event held at the Edison Outdoor Show, he requested that a $200 donation from the General Fund be made to the Youth Fund. President Going noted how impressive the Pequest show was and the various activities avalaible.

Forest also introduced the two junior contenders who will be fishing in the TBF Junior National Championship to be held in August in Arkansas in conjunction with the Forrest Wood Cup. The 11-14 age group qualifier is Nicholas Goebel; and the 15-18 age group qualifier is Joe Morse. Each angler was presented with a plaque by the Federation for their achievement in qualifying for the event.

He also stated that he received a $13 donation from the Pequest Hatchery; a $20 donation from John Carlone and collected $80 in shirt sales, all of which will go to the Youth Fund.

Treasurer Carlone advised that the Federation website cannot be used for “store” type advertising by clubs, and therefore, cannot be used to link to club pages where members sell items as part of a business enterprise.

Vice President Mike Hart indicated that Tournament Committee Director Marty Klapa is still soliciting potential 2008 tournament sites. Any suggestions should be e-mailed to Marty at <>, or given to any Board member.

Tony stated that the Federation does not currently have a contract with Quantum or MinnKota, but he will be contacting both companies in the near future. He also stated that Berkley was recently purchased by the Jordan Corporation (owner of Coleman).

Jerry Conley, representing the Garden State Bassmasters, indicated that his club, for various reasons, did not get its Team Tournament paperwork in on time, and asked the membership to allow the club to compete in the event. In this regard, he and Tony indicated that Garden State was one of the charter Federation clubs. A motion was made and seconded to allow the club to compete. Since there was no objections made by any of the membership, the motion was passed.

Scott Rieger, representing the Raritan Valley Bassmasters, requested a $100 donation for a youth event the club will be holding at the end of the month. Tony stated that the club would receive the donation after it submits an article and pictures from the event.
The results of the “extra” boat drawing was announced as follows:

1. Limiters 12. Catch and Release
2. Greenback 13. Bass Kickers
3. Tightline 14. Salem County
4. Clearwater 15. Mercer County
5. Swimming River 16. Bass Busters
6. Megabass Six 17. Sunrise
7. Berkeley 18. Bucketmouth Brigade
8. Bass Assassin Six 19. Super Six
9. Jackson 20. Big D Valley
10. South Jersey Hawg Hunters 21. Essex County
11. Raritan Valley 22. Quickfire

A raffle for a large tackle box was won by Ray Carmen. The $88 received from the raffle will go to the General Fund.

A motion was made and seconded to adjourn the meeting at 8:55 p.m.

Submitted by Nick Angiulo, Recording Secretary.